
 
Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Licensing 

 
The Alabama State Banking Department, through the Bureau of Loans, licenses and 

regulates a variety of companies under various laws.  These include the following Acts: 
 

• The Alabama Consumer Credit Act – Mini Code 
• The Alabama Small Loan Act 
• Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act 
• Deferred Presentment Services Act 
• Alabama Pawnshop Act 

 
  The companies subject to these various Acts include consumer finance companies, 

residential mortgage brokers, small loan companies, deferred presentment providers (“payday 
lenders”) and pawnshops (including title pawn lenders). (hereinafter “lenders”)  Each Act 
requires the submission of a specific type of application.  Copies of the applications can be 
obtained by downloading from the Department’s website or by calling our office.  The following 
Frequently Asked Questions address many issues regarding the licensing requirements for each 
law enforced by the Bureau of Loans.  After review of these commonly asked questions, should 
you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact the Bureau of Loans at (334) 242-3452. 

 
1.  Who must be licensed under the Alabama Consumer Credit Act – Mini Code?   

Creditors who regularly extend or arrange for the extension of credit or take assignments of 
consumer loans and who have a place of business or resident employee in Alabama must obtain 
an Alabama Consumer Credit Act license.  Creditors with offices in Alabama must obtain a 
license for each location in Alabama.  Creditors having no place of business in Alabama but 
having a resident employee in Alabama shall obtain a license for the location where the creditor 
maintains its records regarding Alabama loans or consumer credit contracts.  Out-of-state 
consumer lenders with no resident employee in Alabama, banks and life insurance companies are 
exempt from licensing; however, they must still follow all other requirements of the Alabama 
Consumer Credit Act regarding their consumer loans in Alabama.     

 
The Alabama Consumer Credit Act caps interest rates for consumer loans in amounts of 

less than $2,000.  The rate cap is a “stacked rate” allowing a maximum of 15% per year for the 
first $750 of the amount financed and 10% per year for that portion of the amount financed over 
$750 but less than $2,000.  There is no interest rate cap for loans of $2,000 or more.  The 
Alabama Consumer Credit Act limits the assessment of prepaid fees to 5% “points” in real estate 
loans.  The Alabama Consumer Credit Act is codified at Alabama Code §5-19-1 et seq., a copy 
of which is available on our website, as are the supplementing regulations.  Lenders may hold 
both an Alabama Consumer Credit Act and an Alabama Small Loan Act license at the same 
location. 
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2. Who must be licensed under the Alabama Small Loan Act?  Creditors who engage 

in the business of making consumer loans in amounts of less than $1,000 must first obtain a 
Small Loan license for each of their locations in Alabama.  Banks and pawnshops are exempt.  
The Alabama Small Loan Act now has two different fee caps.  The traditional method caps fees 
to 3% per month for the first $200 and 2% per month for the remaining balance up to $1,000.  In 
addition, a $3 monthly account maintenance fee may be charged if the monthly payment is $30 
or more, and licensees may sell and finance credit insurance.  The minimum term for repaying a 
small loan is one month, while the maximum term is 25 months.   
 

Alternatively, SLA licensees may charge a fee under the new “Alternative Rate of 
Charge” in lieu of selling and financing any other ancillary products, such as credit insurance.  
The Alternative Rate of Charge allows licensees to charge both: (1) a 10% acquisition charge; 
and (2) an installment account handling charge, which varies depending on the loan amount. 

 
The Alabama Small Loan Act is codified at Alabama Code §5-18-1 et seq., a copy of 

which is available on our website, as are the supplementing regulations.  Lenders may hold both 
a Consumer Credit Act and a Small Loan Act license at the same location. 
 

3.  Who must be licensed under Alabama’s Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act?  A 
mortgage broker is defined as any person who directly or indirectly solicits, processes, places or 
negotiates mortgage loans for a residential borrower concerning real property located in 
Alabama.  Brokers that “table-fund” loans must apply for a Brokers’ license, while “brokers” 
who fund their own loans with warehouse-lines of credit should apply for an Alabama Consumer 
Credit Act license.  The Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act does not apply to commercial property 
transactions.  Banks, Alabama Consumer Credit Act licensees and approved mortgagees under 
the provisions of the National Housing Act are exempt.  Applicants must have 12 hours of 
continuing education from an approved provider before the Department will issue a license. 

 
Mortgage broker fees are limited to the same 5% “points” restriction found in the Alabama 
Consumer Credit Act for mortgage loans.  Brokers must disclose their fees to their borrowers 
upfront, but cannot collect their fee upfront.  The Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act is codified at 
Alabama Code §5-25-1 et seq., a copy of which is available on our website.  
 
 4.  Who must be licensed under the Deferred Presentment Services Act?  Lenders 
that hold personal checks until the borrower’s next payday, also known as “payday lenders,” 
must obtain a Deferred Presentment Services license for each location in Alabama.  Banks, 
savings & loans, and thrift institutions are exempt from the Act.  The maximum fee for payday 
loans in Alabama is 17.50% of cash advanced.  The maximum loan amount is $500 and the term 
must be a minimum of 10 days to a maximum of 31 days.  Alabama’s Deferred Presentment 
Services Act is codified at Alabama Code §5-18A-1 et seq., a copy of which is available on our 
website. 
 
 5.  Who must be licensed under the Alabama Pawnshop Act?  Pawn transactions are 
non-recourse loans based on the pledging of personal property.  Pawnbrokers must take actual 
physical possession of the items pawned and cannot demand repayment of the loan from the 
pledgor.  The pledging of car titles is allowed under the Alabama Pawnshop Act.  Banks and 
Alabama Consumer Credit Act licensees are exempt.  All pawn transactions in Alabama are for 
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one month.  The maximum fee is 25% per month.  The Alabama Pawnshop Act is codified at 
Alabama Code §5-19A-1 et seq., a copy of which is available on our website.  
 
 6.  Are licensees subject to examination?  Yes.   All licensees are subject to an on-site 
examination of records.  Our field examiners review records of transactions for compliance with 
the applicable law.  The current exam fee is $100 per examiner per day, or part thereof.  When an 
examination is conducted outside Alabama, the licensee shall pay the reasonable and necessary 
expenses related to the examination at the place of business where records are maintained. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


