
 
MEMORANDUM FOR MORTGAGE BROKER APPLICANTS 

   
Enclosed is an application for an Original Mortgage Brokers License pursuant to 

Alabama’s Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. You may access the text of the new law at 
our website:  www.bank.state.al.us  (Select the button for “Laws” and then select 
"Alabama Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act".)   

 
The license fee under the Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act is $500.00 for each 

office, branch or place of business.  A $100.00 investigation fee is also required for each 
location.  Payment of multiple licenses under the same ownership may be included in one 
certified check or money order.  All funds should be certified and payable to State 
Banking Department. 
 

The Department has 90 days to investigate a license.  Please do not call this office 
for at least 30 days to check on the status of your application; be assured that we will 
contact you if we need more information.  If you would like confirmation that we 
received your application, then enclose a self-addressed, stamped postcard, which we will 
mail back to you upon receipt. 
 
MAIL FORMS ALONG WITH REQUESTED ATTACHMENTS TO:
 
 
  STATE BANKING DEPARTMENT 
  ATTN: BUREAU OF LOANS 
  401 ADAMS AVENUE SUITE 680 
  MONTGOMERY, AL 36130-1201  
 

 
If you have any questions, please call Jeremy Windham at 334-242-3452. 
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