STATE OF ALABAMA

STATE BANKING DEPARTMENT

MEMORANDUM FOR ALABAMA SMALL LOAN ACT APPLICANTS

Please review this Memorandum regarding applications under the Alabama Small Loan
Act prior to submission of an application. The application for an original license under
the Alabama Small Loan Act is available online or by request from the Department.

You may access the text of the Alabama Small Loan Act at the website:
www.bank.state.al.us (Select the link for “Laws” and then select “Alabama Small Loan
Act”)

You must submit a separate application for each location subject to licensure; however,
only one set of attachments is required for the applicant. The license fee under the
Alabama Small Loan Act is $500.00 for each office location and a $100.00 investigation
fee is also required for each location. Payment of multiple license and investigation fees
under the same ownership may be included in one check or money order. All funds
should be made payable to the Alabama State Banking Department. If you are also
applying for a Alabama Consumer Credit Act — Mini Code license, then the license fee
under the Small Loan Act is waived.

The Department has 90 days to investigate a application for licensure under the Alabama
Small Loan Act. Please be advised that the Department will not consider an application
“filed” unless required information is submitted and the application is complete. The
Department will contact you regarding incomplete applications or if we need additional
information. If you would like confirmation that we received your application, please
provide a duplicate copy of the application along with a self-addressed stamped envelope.
We will date stamp the copy and return to the address noted on the self-addressed
stamped envelope.

Please mail the Application and all requested attachments to:

Alabama State Banking Department
Bureau of Loans

401 Adams Avenue, Suite 680
Montgomery, Alabama 36130-1201

Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact this office at (334) 242-
3452.



